book review: Dread Nation by Justina Ireland

Title: Dread Nation
Author: Justina Ireland
Series: Dread Nation #1
Pages: 455
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Release Date: April 3rd 2018

Jane McKeene was born two days before the dead began to walk the battlefields of Gettysburg and Chancellorsville—derailing the War Between the States and changing America forever. In this new nation, safety for all depends on the work of a few, and laws like the Native and Negro Reeducation Act require certain children attend combat schools to learn to put down the dead. But there are also opportunities—and Jane is studying to become an Attendant, trained in both weaponry and etiquette to protect the well-to-do. It’s a chance for a better life for Negro girls like Jane. After all, not even being the daughter of a wealthy white Southern woman could save her from society’s expectations.

Continue reading “book review: Dread Nation by Justina Ireland”

music monday #4 | Why Can’t This Be Love by Van Halen

Music Monday is a meme, created by Drew at The Tattooed Book Geek, where you focus on a song you absolutely love and feel needs to be shared.

Obvious choice today for the great Eddie Van Halen.

I can’t remember the first time I heard Why Can’t This Be Love by Van Halen. But it’s one of those songs that you’ve just always known and always loved.

I hate it when great musicians leave us, even though they leave us with such amazing music that will rock on forever. RIP Eddie Van Halen ❤️

Until next time…

book review: The House in the Cerulean Sea by T. J. Klune

Title: The House in the Cerulean Sea
Author: T. J. Klune
Series: No
Pages: 393
Publisher: Tor Books
Release Date: March 17th 2020

A magical island. A dangerous task. A burning secret.

Linus Baker leads a quiet, solitary life. At forty, he lives in a tiny house with a devious cat and his old records. As a Case Worker at the Department in Charge Of Magical Youth, he spends his days overseeing the well-being of children in government-sanctioned orphanages.

When Linus is unexpectedly summoned by Extremely Upper Management he’s given a curious and highly classified assignment: travel to Marsyas Island Orphanage, where six dangerous children reside: a gnome, a sprite, a wyvern, an unidentifiable green blob, a were-Pomeranian, and the Antichrist. Linus must set aside his fears and determine whether or not they’re likely to bring about the end of days.

But the children aren’t the only secret the island keeps. Their caretaker is the charming and enigmatic Arthur Parnassus, who will do anything to keep his wards safe. As Arthur and Linus grow closer, long-held secrets are exposed, and Linus must make a choice: destroy a home or watch the world burn.

Continue reading “book review: The House in the Cerulean Sea by T. J. Klune”

book review: A Darker Shade of Magic by V. E. Schwab

Title: A Darker Shade of Magic
Author: V. E. Schwab
Series: Shades of Magic #1
Pages: 384
Publisher: Titan Books
Release Date: February 27th 2015

Kell is one of the last Antari—magicians with a rare, coveted ability to travel between parallel Londons; Red, Grey, White, and, once upon a time, Black.

Kell was raised in Arnes—Red London—and officially serves the Maresh Empire as an ambassador, traveling between the frequent bloody regime changes in White London and the court of George III in the dullest of Londons, the one without any magic left to see.

Unofficially, Kell is a smuggler, servicing people willing to pay for even the smallest glimpses of a world they’ll never see. It’s a defiant hobby with dangerous consequences, which Kell is now seeing firsthand.

After an exchange goes awry, Kell escapes to Grey London and runs into Delilah Bard, a cut-purse with lofty aspirations. She first robs him, then saves him from a deadly enemy, and finally forces Kell to spirit her to another world for a proper adventure.

Now perilous magic is afoot, and treachery lurks at every turn. To save all of the worlds, they’ll first need to stay alive.

Continue reading “book review: A Darker Shade of Magic by V. E. Schwab”

music monday #3 | Cowboys from Hell by Pantera

Music Monday is a meme, created by Drew at The Tattooed Book Geek, where you focus on a song you absolutely love and feel needs to be shared.

How about some metal Monday today, eh? 🤘🏼

I heard Cowboys from Hell by Pantera properly only today and I’ve heard it three times already. Figured it has to be the pick for today cos I’m lovin’ it!

When I was younger, I didn’t fully appreciate metal. I always thought it was too heavy, too intense, and I couldn’t really glean the nuances that metal actually has. Fast forward a few years and I’m certified headbanger. I can’t call myself a metalhead but I feel like I’m getting there.

Do you like metal? What are your favourite bands? Lemme know in the comments below!

Until next time…

book review: Vicious by V. E. Schwab

Title: Vicious
Author: V. E. Schwab
Series: Villans #1
Pages: 368
Publisher: Tor
Release Date: September 24th 2013

A masterful tale of ambition, jealousy, desire, and superpowers.

Victor and Eli started out as college roommates—brilliant, arrogant, lonely boys who recognized the same sharpness and ambition in each other. In their senior year, a shared research interest in adrenaline, near-death experiences, and seemingly supernatural events reveals an intriguing possibility: that under the right conditions, someone could develop extraordinary abilities. But when their thesis moves from the academic to the experimental, things go horribly wrong.

Ten years later, Victor breaks out of prison, determined to catch up to his old friend (now foe), aided by a young girl whose reserved nature obscures a stunning ability. Meanwhile, Eli is on a mission to eradicate every other super-powered person that he can find—aside from his sidekick, an enigmatic woman with an unbreakable will. Armed with terrible power on both sides, driven by the memory of betrayal and loss, the archnemeses have set a course for revenge—but who will be left alive at the end?

Continue reading “book review: Vicious by V. E. Schwab”

book review: Release by Patrick Ness

Title: Release
Author: Patrick Ness
Series: No
Pages: 287
Publisher: Walker Books
Release Date: May 4th 2017

It’s Saturday, it’s summer and, although he doesn’t know it yet, everything in Adam Thorn’s life is going to fall apart. Relationships will change, he’ll change, but maybe, just maybe, he’ll find freedom in the release.

Time is running out though, because way across town a ghost as risen from the lake. Searching, yearning, she leaves a trail of destruction in her wake…

Continue reading “book review: Release by Patrick Ness”

spooktober: My TBR books for October

Hey folks, I hope you’re having a great week! This is my first TBR post ever and I’m glad it’s themed by default 😄

October 🎃 ‘Tis the season of all things spooky so my friend Brigi and I have decided to do a Spooktober month. We have an awesome pile of books lined up to read for this month and I’m so excited to share them with you guys.

Continue reading “spooktober: My TBR books for October”

book review: The 7 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton

Title: The 7 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle
Author: Stuart Turton
Series: No
Pages: 432
Publisher: Sourcebooks Landmark
Release Date: September 18th 2018

“Agatha Christie meets Groundhog Day . . . quite unlike anything I’ve ever read, and altogether triumphant.” – A. J. Finn, #1 New York Times-bestselling author of The Woman in the Window

Aiden Bishop knows the rules. Evelyn Hardcastle will die every day until he can identify her killer and break the cycle. But every time the day begins again, Aiden wakes up in the body of a different guest at Blackheath Manor. And some of his hosts are more helpful than others. With a locked room mystery that Agatha Christie would envy, Stuart Turton unfurls a breakneck novel of intrigue and suspense.

For fans of Claire North, and Kate Atkinson, The 7½ Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle is a breathlessly addictive mystery that follows one man’s race against time to find a killer, with an astonishing time-turning twist that means nothing and no one are quite what they seem.

Continue reading “book review: The 7 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton”